Seven days in November

MY FRIEND TRAVIS ASKED ME to make something for his art gallery. It’s not exactly a gallery, but an extra room where he has shows. Maybe not “shows” so much as house parties where there’s art. Not having attended before, I can’t even say it’s about art per se. All this will have to be confirmed.

The assignment, dubbed “November 14-20,” is strict yet open-ended: document those days any way I want. And make it fit in a 12-inch cube. We gather on December 8th to see people’s weeks.

My blog, camera, and Facebook are sufficiently snore-inducing chronicles of my comings and goings. Rather than mining or duplicating those efforts, I went non-journalistic and, more importantly to me, non-digital. My unifying principle was Do what I like to do (but usually don’t): draw, collect, and cobble things together using materials and processes I have at hand.

What’s the opposite of a Status Update? I’m going for that.

These seven collages are made from scraps of my days—picked, sketched, assembled, and Xeroxed haphazardly. With some hindsight and luck, maybe they’ll resolve into coherence. Or just as likely not. Which makes them true to life.

>> Elvis Costello – Strict Time

1 comment
  1. Sarah said:

    I second the laughing at one’s foibles in 2012, be them futile bottle collections, mistakes of memory or insecurity about blogging when one’s blog is a Vital & Hilarious Chronicle of the life of his grateful and admiring family. Xo, yo.

Leave a Reply

